Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 24, 2013, 04:38:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Registration for new members will open May 31st.
388749 Posts in 11068 Topics by 2264 Members
Latest Member: gtrekker
*
Home Help Calendar Login Register
Donate to help BollyWHAT? stay on-line all day, every day!
Advertisement

1 Post in
1 Topic

Last Post on January 1, 2007,
12:00 PM
in bollywhat.com by Google
+  BollyWHAT?: For Clueless Fans of Bollywood Films!
|-+  Other stuff...
| |-+  Help for the hapless...
| | |-+  Bizarre e-mail
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Bizarre e-mail  (Read 1544 times)
kmemphis
I guess all those paparrazi mean that I'm
the one & only superstar
******
Posts: 3623


Avi by Remini


WWW

Ignore
« on: March 27, 2010, 12:56:39 AM »

I just got an e-mail from the correct BW admin e-mail (the one on the "about" page) but um... beyond that it's freaky.

Quote
This mail was sent because the 'forgot password' function has been applied to your account. To set a new password click the following link:

I last had password issues in early February. Is there some new "forgot password function" or what?
Logged

"Hey PZ, under water or what?"
Debbie
Global Moderator
four-time filmfare award winner!
*****
Posts: 1580




« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 08:58:41 AM »

I just got an e-mail from the correct BW admin e-mail (the one on the "about" page) but um... beyond that it's freaky.

I last had password issues in early February. Is there some new "forgot password function" or what?

Is it possible that someone else tried to log into BollyWHAT with your account?
Logged
kmemphis
I guess all those paparrazi mean that I'm
the one & only superstar
******
Posts: 3623


Avi by Remini


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2010, 10:00:36 AM »

Is it possible that someone else tried to log into BollyWHAT with your account?

Not to my knowledge.

I don't like this.
Logged

"Hey PZ, under water or what?"
Debbie
Global Moderator
four-time filmfare award winner!
*****
Posts: 1580




« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2010, 11:58:14 AM »

Not to my knowledge.

I don't like this.

Do you share a computer with someone else?

That's the only thing I can think of. I wonder if anyone else has received the same email, unsolicited.
Logged
James
Administrator
the one & only superstar
*****
Posts: 4148




« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2010, 01:20:49 PM »

I just got an e-mail from the correct BW admin e-mail (the one on the "about" page) but um... beyond that it's freaky.

I last had password issues in early February. Is there some new "forgot password function" or what?

No, not new, there's always been one.  If you click on the hyperlink 'log in' in the top left of the forum, a new screen pops up and underneath where you would put in your username and password there is a hyperlink that says, 'forgot your password?'.  If you click on that, you can have your password sent to the email account you signed up with.  Anyone could theoretically put in the user ID and click send, though that wouldn't help to gain access to your account unless they can also access your email.  I'd recommend you change your password just to be on the safe side, Kmemphis.
Logged

"It cannot be stolen by thieves, Nor can it be taken away by kings. It cannot be divided among brothers, It does not cause a load on your shoulders. If spent..It indeed always keeps growing. The wealth of knowledge..Is the most superior wealth of all!"
kmemphis
I guess all those paparrazi mean that I'm
the one & only superstar
******
Posts: 3623


Avi by Remini


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2010, 02:43:51 PM »

I meant some new unchecked or checked box on our profile where we got regular e-mails asking us if we forgot our passwords...

Okay... that makes no sense.

I don't share my computer or get on BW on any other computer. (And you hack this account? So there'll be posts by "me" saying "I hate SRK!" Kya purpose hai?)

However, I did have to reset my password twice in a couple weeks - reinstalled firefox and then got a new computer.

Off to reset it.

So I logged out and asked for the e-mail and it came with IP address I see with every post.

But the e-mail from Friday night at 11:22 US Central time had this IP address - IP: 69.138.62.241

If anyone else has gotten an unsolicited e-mail, maybe their e-mail has the same IP.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2010, 02:49:16 PM by kmemphis » Logged

"Hey PZ, under water or what?"
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.16 | SMF © 2006, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.073 seconds with 18 queries.